Layers of Skin and their Function


Skin consists of three layers: the epidermis, dermis and hypodermis.

The epidermis helps prevent most bacteria and other foreign substances from entering the body.

The dermis provides support for the epidermis and gives the skin its flexibility and strength.

The hypodermis is a layer of fat cells providing insulation and protective padding.